Working Low Tide

These funky-looking birds are Black-crowned Night-Herons. According to the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, its range spans five continents, including much of North America: it’s the most widespread heron in the world. Although most active at dusk and night, they can also be seen during the day. I shot these photos in the morning at the Oceanside Marine Nature Study Area in Long Island, NY. The Marine Nature Study Area is a 52-acre salt marsh preserve devoted to environmental education and natural history.

Two Black-crowned Night-Herons prowl for food at low tide in the bay.

Two Black-crowned Night-Herons prowl for food at low tide.

Black-crowned Night-Heron looking for food at low tide in the ba

Black-crowned Night-Heron looking for food at low tide.

Black-crowned Night-Heron looking for food at low tide in the ba

Black-crowned Night-Heron looking for food at low tide.

 A Black-crowned Night-Heron with muddy feet flies towards a tidal pond at low tide.

A Black-crowned Night-Heron with muddy feet flies towards a tidal pond at low tide.

5 thoughts on “Working Low Tide

  1. How interesting! I don’t think I’ve ever seen them, but you would think that if I’ve seen egrets, blue herons & green herons, I must have seen them at some point. I bet I thought they were the blue herons, albeit a bit smaller.

    Nancy

    • Hi, Nancy. For me, identifying birds is part of the fun of birdwatching/photography. You might enjoy The Sibley Guide to Birds (National Audubon Society) by David Allen Sibley. This is a standard reference and one of my favorite books!

    • Thanks! I was in the UK many years ago and I wish I was more involved with birdwatching/photography then. Scotland has some of the most beautiful natural scenery and I’m sure the wildlife is spectacular as well.

Leave a Reply

